The Network’s founding members are also some of East Africa’s most respected learning institutions:

  • Addis Ababa University (AAU)
  • Jimma University
  • Arba Minch University
  • Hawassa University
  • University of Khartoum
  • University of Nairobi
  • Kenyatta University
  • University of Djibouti
  • University of Hargeisa

Some of the founding members from civil societies include:

  • Forum for Environment (Ethiopia)
  • Sudanese Environmental Conservation Society (Sudan)
  • Djibouti Nature (Djibouti)
  • South Rift Association of Land Owners (Kenya)
  • Eco-Focus (Somaliland)HoA-REN also partners with government bodies, businesses and international organisations working on environmental issues in the region to achieve optimal impact on the ground.

Currently the network consists of 50 members, of which Ethiopia has the largest share of about 40%, and it is constantly growing with many environmental organisations from the Horn of Africa region showing an interest in joining.